Interesting Facts

The "Emperor-Maximilian-Prize for European Service at the Regional and Local Level" of the Region of the Tyrol and the City of Innsbruck recognises and supports projects and initiatives from all areas of life that put the European idea into practice at regional and local level. The prize money of € 10,000 will be earmarked for the winning project.

The Emperor-Maximilian-Prize is aimed at all projects and initiatives at the regional and local level that strive for European cohesion across borders. The applicant must have reached the age of 18 and is a citizen of one of the 27 member states of the European Union and / or one of the 46 member states of the Council of Europe. Details on the application requirements can be found in the application notice.

Application for the Emperor-Maximilian-Prize 2023 is open from 15 March 2023 to 20 April 2023.

Applications shall be submitted online using the application form in English.

Following the application, the submissions that meet the application requirements are passed on to an awarding jury for evaluation. This jury consists of representatives of the Region of the Tyrol, the City of Innsbruck as well as the "European Committee of the Regions" (CoR), the "Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe" (CLRAE), the "Assembly of European Regions" (AER), the "Council of European Municipalities and Regions" (CEMR) and the University of Innsbruck. The winning project will be determined in a jury meeting in May 2023.

The awarding of the Emperor-Maximilian-Prize 2023 will take place in November 2023 in Innsbruck.

Winner 2019 - Rückenwind
Winner project 2019: "Rückenwind"

Winner 2021 - #EUROPAgegenCovid19/EUmythbusters
Winner 2021: "#EUROPAgegenCovid19/EUmythbusters"